Health Library Explorer
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z A-Z Listings Contact Us

Types of Laparoscopic Hysterectomy

There are several types of laparoscopic hysterectomy. Depending on your needs, all or part of the uterus may be removed. In some cases, the cervix, ovaries, or fallopian tubes are also removed. Your surgeon will discuss the options with you before surgery.

Front view of total hysterectomy showing uterus and cervix removed.

Total hysterectomy

A total hysterectomy means that the entire uterus is removed. It may be removed through the vagina. Or it may be removed in pieces through small cuts (incisions) in the belly (abdomen).

Front view of hysterectomy showing uterus, ovaries, cervix, and fallopian tubes removed.

Hysterectomy with removal of ovaries

In this procedure, the uterus, ovaries, and fallopian tubes are removed. The organs may be removed through the vagina. Or they may be removed in pieces through small cuts in the belly.

Front view of supracervical hysterectomy showing part of the uterus removed with cervix intact.

Laparoscopic supracervical hysterectomy (LSH)

With this procedure, the top part of the uterus is removed. The cervix is left in place and may be closed at the top. This procedure may be done if the cervix is healthy. The uterus is removed in pieces through small cuts in the belly. The ovaries and tubes may also be removed during this type of hysterectomy.

Online Medical Reviewer: Donna Freeborn PhD CNM FNP
Online Medical Reviewer: Heather Trevino
Online Medical Reviewer: Irina Burd MD PhD
Date Last Reviewed: 5/1/2020
© 2000-2021 The StayWell Company, LLC. All rights reserved. This information is not intended as a substitute for professional medical care. Always follow your healthcare professional's instructions.
About StayWell | StayWell Disclaimer